SETTING: BERGISCHES LAND
setting of the crime novels

"The crows are showing absolutely no fear of him. There are quite a few of them, at least twenty ... At that moment he notices the smell. Sweet. Rotten. Decay, his brain signals to him... The smell becomes worse the higher he climbs. Cawing, the black birds plummet from the sky and then gyre upwards again."

setting of the crime novels

“With its colourful autumn trees, the clearing would be a rewarding motif for any landscape photographer. There is no indication that a crime has taken place here. The world is a beautiful place, and people do everything to make life hell for one another, thinks Judith.”

setting of the crime novels

“She’s never bothered to oil the hinges of the old wooden shutters. There aren’t any neighbours, the access route to the forester’s lodge isn’t a public road – so why should she close the shutters at night? Now she regrets that untroubled carelessness.”

setting of the crime novels

“She stumbles again. The ground is uneven. Her voice doesn’t carry, as if the forest were closing in on her, encircling her and catching and muffling everything she emits. Something is lurking between the trunks and staring at me. The forest is watching me, it’s listening, it’s waiting. Even if she tries, she can’t ignore the sensation.”

setting of the crime novels

“She makes out a stream and walks towards it. The soggy ground pulls at her rubber boots with a quiet squelch. The mire on the ground is an opaque black. A perfect hiding place for things that are supposed to disappear.”

SILENT IS THE FOREST
© Gisa Klönne

SCHAUPLATZ BERGISCHES LAND
Romanschauplatz Krimi

„Die Krähen haben überhaupt keinen Respekt vor ihm. Es sind viele, bestimmt 20 Stück. Hitchcocks Vögel fallen ihm ein, er drängt die Filmbilder beiseite, fixiert den Hochsitz.“

Romanschauplatz Krimi

„Mit den bunten Herbstbäumen wäre die Lichtung ohne weiteres ein lohnendes Motiv für Landschaftsfotografen. Nichts deutet darauf hin, dass hier eine Gewalttat geschehen ist. Die Welt ist schön und die Menschen tun alles, um einander das Leben zur Hölle zu machen, denkt Judith.“

Romanschauplatz Krimi

„Sie hat sich nie darum gekümmert, die Scharniere der alten Holzklappläden zu ölen. Es gibt ja keine Nachbarn, die Zufahrt zum Forsthaus ist kein öffentlicher Fahrweg – vor wem also sollte sie abends die Läden verschließen? Jetzt bereut sie diese unbekümmerte Nachlässigkeit.“

Romanschauplatz Krimi

„Wieder stolpert sie. Der Boden ist uneben. Ihre Stimme trägt nicht, als ob der Wald näher an sie heranrückt, sie umzingelt und alles, was von ihr ausgeht abfängt und dämpft. Irgendetwas sitzt zwischen den Stämmen und starrt mich an. Der Wald beobachtet mich, er lauscht, er wartet. Das Gefühl lässt sich nicht ignorieren.“

Romanschauplatz Krimi

„Sie entdeckt einen Bach und läuft darauf zu. Der aufgeweichte Boden saugt mit leisem Schmatzen an ihren Gummistiefeln. Der Morast auf dem Grund ist von undurchsichtigem Schwarz. Ein perfektes Versteck für Dinge, die man verschwinden lassen will.“

DER WALD IST SCHWEIGEN
© Gisa Klönne