SETTING: FRIMMERSDORF
setting

"Behind the field, the power plant blocks the view, a smoking colossus of steel and brick. Clouds of steam belch from its cooling towers into the sky."

setting

"Oh Lord, how beautiful is your world, it says on the stone cross next to the soccer pitch. Elisabeth has read this inscription so often, but today she suddenly wonders whether the cross was here first or the power station, and why the cross with the suffering Jesus is here in this place. Oh yes, the world is beautiful, but we humans are destroying it, she thinks."

setting

"The B 59 is the ugliest main road Manni can think of by a long shot. Straight as an arrow, it cuts through a landscape of highly rationalised agriculture, with nothing natural remaining. Power lines stretch above it, giant in comparison to the houses Manni passes."

setting

"With its pointed slate roof, the Church of St. Martin towers above the closely built brick houses. Somewhere, a factory siren hoots at unnerving intervals. A life-sized wooden Jesus is nailed to the cross on the church’s facade. A weathered copper roof lends shade to his thorn-crowned head."

setting

"She leads him along a trampled path into a copse, which seems entirely out of place here. It is about 200 yards to the river that provides the plant’s cooling water. Beyond it lies the power plant and it is only from this sideways perspective that Manni realises how huge it is, how many cooling towers it has."

UNDER THE ICE
© Gisa Klönne

SCHAUPLATZ FRIMMERSDORF
Romanschauplatz Krimi

"Hinter dem Feld versperrt das Kraftwerk den Blick, ein fauchender Koloss aus Stahl und Stein. Dampfwolken blähen aus seinen Kühlwassertürmen in den Himmel."

Romanschauplatz Krimi

"O Herr wie schön ist deine Welt, steht auf dem steinernen Kreuz neben dem Fußballplatz. So oft hat Elisabeth diese Inschrift schon gelesen, doch heute fragt sie sich auf einmal, ob zuerst dieses Kreuz da war oder das Kraftwerk und was das Kreuz mit dem leidenden Jesus gerade an dieser Stelle zu bedeuten hat. O ja, die Welt ist schön, aber wir Menschen zerstören sie, denkt sie."

Romanschauplatz Krimi

"Die B 59 ist mit Abstand die hässlichste Bundesstraße, an die Manni sich erinnern kann. Schurgerade zerschneidet sie eine auf Effizienz getrimmte Agrarlandschaft, der nichts Natürliches geblieben ist. Überlandstromleitungen spannen sich darüber, riesig im Vergleich zu den Häusern, die Manni passiert."

Romanschauplatz Krimi

"Die Kirche St. Martin überragt mit spitzem Schieferdach die eng stehenden Backsteinhäuschen. Irgendwo hupt in nervtötenden Intervallen die Sirene einer Fabrik. An der Kirchenfassade ist ein lebensgroßer, hölzerner Jesus ans Kreuz geschlagen. Ein verwittertes Kupferdach beschattet sein dornengekränztes Haupt."

Romanschauplatz Krimi

"Zu Fuß führt sie ihn einen Trampelpfad hinunter in ein Wäldchen, das hier völlig fehl am Platz wirkt. Bis zum Kühlwasserfluss sind es vielleicht 200 Meter, auf der anderen Seite liegt das Kraftwerk, und aus dieser seitlichen Perspektive erkennt Manni erst, wie riesig es ist, wie viele Kühltürme es hat."

UNTER DEM EIS
© Gisa Klönne