SETTING: CANADA
setting canada

"The air is soft, the water blank, the land is silent in a way she has never heard it before. Is this what Charlotte Simonis was looking for? This surplus of light and air, such a contrast to her previous life, dominated by sick parents and dead dollsí eyes?"

setting canada

"The call of a water bird hangs on the air, longing, plaintive and strange. Round red eyes gleam at her. Archaic looks, utterly empty yet searching."

setting canada

"She heads north as the carís navigation system tells her. Forests now dominate the panorama. Shades of blue, brown and green all the way to the horizon. Nothing to hold her up or distract her, only this broad, gigantic land."

setting canada

"Not a trace of a human being, no mobile phone reception. Nothing but conifers, water and silence, occasionally interrupted by the cry of a loon. Judithís rage at being stuck here against her will spurs her on. Later she sees the island, a dark wooded elevation, rising out of the water."

setting canada

"Clouds are drifting on the water. Pinkish clouds, of all things. On the banks, the forest floats in the lake. Itís this empty land thatís making me reckless, Judith thinks."

UNDER THE ICE
© Gisa Klönne

SCHAUPLATZ KANADA
Romanschauplatz Krimi

"Die Luft ist weich, das Wasser blank, das Land auf eine Weise still, wie sie es noch nie gehört hat. Ist es das, was Charlotte Simonis gesucht hat? Diesen Überfluss an Licht und Luft, so gegensätzlich zu ihrem bisherigen, von kranken Eltern und toten Puppenaugen dominiertem Leben?"

Romanschauplatz Krimi

"Der Ruf eines Seevogels schwebt durch die Luft, sehnsüchtig, klagend und fremd. Kreisrunde rote Augen glimmen sie an. Archaische Blicke, gänzlich leer und dennoch forschend."

Romanschauplatz Krimi

"Sie fährt nach Norden, wie es das PKW-Navigationssystem vorschreibt. Wälder bestimmen nun das Panorama. Blau-, Braun- und Grüntöne, bis zum Horizont. Nichts, was aufhält oder ablenkt, nur dieses gigantische weite Land."

Romanschauplatz Krimi

"Nicht die Spur eines Menschen, kein Mobilfunknetz. Nichts als Nadelbäume, Wasser und Stille, die hin und wieder vom Schrei eines Eistauchers durchbrochen wird. Die Wut, hier gegen ihren Willen festzusitzen, treibt Judith voran. Später sieht sie die Insel, eine dunkel bewaldete Erhebung im Wasser."

Romanschauplatz Krimi

"Wolken treiben auf dem Wasser. Rosafarbene Wolken, ausgerechnet. An den Ufern schwimmt der Wald im See. Es ist dieses leere Land, das mich zum Leichtsinn verführt, denkt Judith."

UNTER DEM EIS
© Gisa Klönne